The Gap State High School Finalist at 2022 Showcase Awards for Excellence in Schools

The Gap State High School ranked among the state finalists for the 2022 QSuper Showcase Award for Excellence in Secondary Years, receiving recognition for its “whole school pedagogical change” program.

The citation said that the school’s innovative program combines rigorous research, teacher consultation, and student voice which resulted in the development of a locally contextualized educational framework at The Gap State High School. 

“The school has been delivering the Australian curriculum with precision using effective teaching approaches as the foundation. Teaching teams participate in highly structured intentional collaboration sessions every Monday and Friday morning,” the citation said. 

“These sessions focus on pre-moderation of curriculum and teaching together with a collaborative assessment of student work and review. The unique approach demonstrates the value of teamwork and shared goals, and the results have been encouraging.”

“Data collected using action research methodologies has shown that implementation of the new teaching for innovative learning and engagement framework has led to quantifiable improvements in student engagement and levels of achievement. This fulfils the school’s core purpose to create a community of learners who flourish,” the citation concluded.

Urangan State High School, CAPIP took home the award for their “Time for the right work”.

The 10 award category winners are:

  • The Network 10 Showcase Award for Excellence in the Early and Primary Years
    • North Coast Cluster (Moreton Downs State School, Burpengary State School, Caboolture East State School, Elimbah State School, Jinibara State School, Mango Hill State School and Narangba Valley State School), Critical friends network
  • The QSuper Showcase Award for Excellence in the Secondary Years
    • Urangan State High School, CAPIP – time for the right work
  • The TUH Health Fund Showcase Award for Excellence in Inclusive Education
    • Tinana State School, Everyone’s welcome in the room – whatever it takes
  • The RemServ Showcase Award for Excellence in Parent and Community Engagement
    • Pine Rivers South Primary Cluster (Lawnton State School, Bray Park State School, Strathpine State School and Strathpine West State School), Engagement and attendance matters – The more you go the more you know
  • The Showcase Award for Excellence in Global Engagement
    • Whites Hill State College Cluster (Indooroopilly State High School, Kelvin Grove State College, Sunnybank State High School, Coolum State High School, Mount Gravatt State High School, Centenary Heights State High School, North Lakes State College and Springfield Central State High School), Blended/hybrid virtual high school preparation
  • The Queensland Teachers’ Union Showcase Award for Excellence in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education
    • Moreton Bay Environmental Education Centre, Building cultural understanding and capabilities on Quandamooka Country
  • The Showcase Award for Excellence in Rural and Remote Education
    • Happy Valley State School, Leading from the classroom: a model of distributive leadership
  • The QUT Showcase Award for Excellence in Teaching
    • Brett Dascombe, Wavell State High School
  • The Griffith University Jack Pizzey Award for Excellence in School Leadership
    • Tracy Egan, Mango Hill State School
  • The Bevan Brennan Every Child Needs a Champion Award
    • Lawnton State School, We grow leaders

The 2022 Showcase Awards for Excellence in Schools ceremony was held at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre last 11 October 2022. It had 86 submissions representing 220 state schools.

Each state award group category winner will receive $10,000 development grants with two individuals to each receive a $5,000 development grant.

“Educators have benefitted from a total of $166,000 in grant support from this year’s Showcase Awards for Excellence in Schools, including regional winners who received $1,000 each and regional commendations receiving $500 each,” Ms Grace said.